True Believer - Jack Carr

True Believer

By Jack Carr

  • Release Date: 2019-07-30
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 613 Ratings

Description

*INSTANT BESTSELLER*

“This is seriously good. I mean—seriously. Both author Jack Carr and main character James Reece are the real deal, the action is razor sharp, the suspense is unrelenting, and the tradecraft is so authentic the government will probably ban it—so read it while you can!” —Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Past Tense

“A powerful, thoughtful, realistic, at times terrifying thriller that I could not put down. A terrific addition to the genre, Jack Carr and his alter-ego protagonist, James Reece, continue to blow me away.”—Mark Greaney, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Mission Critical

True Believer, the highly anticipated new thriller from Jack Carr, is one of this year’s hottest thrillers, and a perfect fit for fans of Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, and Daniel Silva.” —The Real Book Spy

In acclaimed author Jack Carr’s follow-up to The Terminal List, former Navy SEAL James Reece’s skill, cunning, and heroism put the US government back in his debt and set him on another path of revenge.

When a string of horrific terrorist attacks plagues the Western world during the holiday season, the broader markets fall into a tailspin. The attacks are being coordinated by a shadowy former Iraqi commando who has disappeared into Europe’s underground. The United States government has an asset who can turn the Iraqi against his masters: James Reece, the most-wanted domestic terrorist alive.

After avenging the deaths of his family and team members, Reece emerges deep in the wilds of Mozambique, protected by the family of his estranged best friend and former SEAL Team member. When a series of events uncovers his whereabouts, the CIA recruits him, using a Presidential pardon for Reece and immunity for the friends who helped him in his mission of vengeance.

Now a reluctant tool of the United States government, Reece travels the globe, targeting terrorist leaders and unraveling a geopolitical conspiracy that exposes a traitorous CIA officer and uncovers a sinister assassination plot with worldwide repercussions.

A high-intensity roller-coaster ride, True Believer explodes with action and authenticity that cements Jack Carr as the new leader in political thrillers.

Reviews

  • Good Book

    5
    By TNO301
    This book is good but the terminal list is better. This character James Reece is going places and I hope to see more books about him. This one was not as fast paced as the terminal list but it did fill in some gaps from the terminal list.
  • Too Many Redactions

    3
    By azherrfun
    I wanted to rate this book higher but there were far too many redactions. Seemed liked every time you turned the page there was another black box. Eventually you get tired of it. Who is the author trying to impress with his knowledge of black sites and black ops. I know I’m not impressed. Furthermore much of that knowledge is probably in the public domain - we just don’t know it. Come on Mr. Carr. It’s a novel. Make up the sites and units. Isn’t that what novelists do?
  • True Believer

    2
    By firstpostitwassobad
    I enjoyed this book and wanted to finish it. It seems every page has a section blacked out. About 2/3 into the book entire pages were blacked out. I just can’t finish, it’s missing so many details. I am not sure if this was on purpose, but it is extremely distracting.
  • True Believer

    5
    By Plano skywatcher
    Outstanding! Good read.
  • True Believer

    2
    By MJNurseS
    I was so anticipating this read and as I continue to plow through the endless gun details and agonizing minutiae I am so disappointed. The story is good, the characters fleshed out, but the diversions into blah are too distracting. No. No. No. Not worth the wait.
  • True believer

    5
    By codety man
    Please keep them coming very good book
  • Outstanding

    5
    By Jared Bays
    Carr has set the bar high with this one. Im counting the days to the release of book 3.
  • True Believer

    5
    By Ghostrover78
    Exceptional. Jack Carr does not take the foot off the pedal with his story. His character Reece belongs with Mitch Rapp; Dewey Andreas; Scot Harvath; Grey Man and the Nowhere Man.
  • A great new author

    5
    By SBonner
    Just finished this book and it is one of my best continued series I read this summer. KEEP THEM COMING!
  • Solid Writing Mixed With Not So Much

    4
    By rcbma
    To be clear, worth a read. But you should know the author takes many (highly detailed) detours that will simultaneously educate and infuriate you - where the editors disappeared to that were responsible for checking story flow, story consistency, word count and re-entry to the actual storyline is unknown - I’m guessing the author fought for more editorial control in this second book and this was the result. If not, time for that editor’s annual review🥴 In many cases you can note the divergence happening and choose to skim until you’re returned to the main storyline. You can also learn much if you dig in as the author went to much trouble to fact-check his myriad detours. No spoilers - just know that you don’t want to be on the other end of our protagonist ‘s anger. Not meaning to be harsh with four stars but, rather, to reflect my final impressions of the book.

Comments